The 2015 Parliament of New South Wales Aboriginal Art Prize now open for entries

Latest News

Aboriginal artists born in or living in New South Wales have an opportunity to be in the running to win $40,000 with the 2015 Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize now open for entries until Friday 31 July, 2015. The annual event is one of the largest art prizes currently on offer for Aboriginal artists in Australia, and is awarded by an independent panel of experts.

Clayton Barr, State Member for the Electorate of Cessnock is encouraging all local Aboriginal artists to get involved. “The Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize is a wonderful opportunity for artists to share their works with the wider community and to exhibit their ideas and creations in the very unique forum of Australia’s first and oldest Parliament.”

Finalists will be exhibited at Parliament House throughout October, and will be toured in regional galleries in 2016. The winner will join the likes of Nicole Foreshew, Roy Kennedy, Esme Timbery, Danny Eastwood and Karla Dickens with their work becoming part of the permanent collection of the Parliament of NSW.

In addition to the main prize, entrants can also choose to be considered for the UNSW Faculty of Art & Design Aboriginal Arts Residency Award. For more information on eligibility criteria and for full terms and conditions of entry visit or contact Campbelltown Arts Centre on 02 4645 4100 or by email to

The Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize is made possible by a partnership between the Parliament, Campbelltown City Council, Arts NSW and the UNSW Faculty of Art & Design.