The State Electorate of Cessnock

The Electorate of Cessnock

The Electorate of Cessnock is a mixed industrial-agricultural district in the lower Hunter Valley. It includes the coal mining town of Kurri Kurri, as well as Cessnock itself, a former coal mining town but these days dominated by the local wine industry and associated tourism operations. The Electorate also extends into the outer suburbs of Newcastle to include West Wallsend, Edgeworth and Barnsley, and also stretches west to include Broke, Milbrodale, Laguna and Wollombi.

Geographic information

Electoral district maps:

Outline map

(919 KB)


4,389 square kilometres


Aberdare, Abermain, Abernethy, Allandale, Barnsley, Belford, Bellbird, Bellbird Heights, Bishops Bridge, Black Hill, Branxton, Broke, Brunkerville, Buchanan, Bucketty, Bulga, Buttai, Cameron Park, Cedar Creek, Cessnock, Cliftleigh, Congewai, East Branxton, Edgeworth, Ellalong, Elrington, Fordwich, Garland Valley, Greta, Greta Main, Heddon Greta, Holmesville, Howes Valley, Kearsley, Keinbah, Kitchener, Kurri Kurri, Laguna, Lochinvar, Lovedale, Loxford, Milbrodale, Millfield, Mount Thorley, Mount View, Mount Vincent, Mulbring, Murrays Run, Neath, North Rothbury, Nulkaba, Paxton, Paynes Crossing, Pelaw Main, Pelton, Pokolbin, Putty, Quorrobolong, Richmond Vale, Rothbury, Sawyers Gully, Seahampton, Singleton Military Area, Stanford Merthyr, Stockrington, Sweetmans Creek, West Wallsend, Weston, Wollombi.


2250, 2278, 2285, 2286, 2320, 2321, 2322, 2323, 2325, 2326, 2327, 2330, 2331, 2334, 2335