Successful 2019/2020 Anzac Community Grants Program Recipients

Latest News

State Member, Clayton Barr, MP is pleased to announce the successful recipients in the Cessnock Electorate who are to receive funding from the 2019/20 Anzac Community Grants Program.

Of the thirty-eight successful projects awarded funding, two are from the Cessnock Electorate with Kearsley Community Dawn Service Committee and Sugar Valley Neighbourhood Centre Advancement Group both receiving funding.

The Anzac Community Grants Program (ACGP) provided small grants for a range of projects that commemorate and educate New South Wales communities about the service and sacrifices of current and former military servicemen and women. Funding was also available for projects which support activities benefiting the NSW veteran community.

State Member Clayton Barr, MP, said he was “pleased that two groups in the Cessnock Electorate has received this funding. It is heartening to see local groups honouring and commemorating the service men and women of our area.”

The successful recipients are:

  • Kearsley Community Dawn Service Committee Inc (Kearsley) is to receive $2,000

The Committee will honour the 81 men and women who served in World War II from Kearsley and Abernethy, by placing individual plaques for each service man and woman on the World War II Bench of Remembrance that is located in the grounds of the Arthur Francis, CSC OAM Remembrance Garden at Kearsley Community Hall.

  • Sugar Valley Neighbourhood Centre Advancement Group Inc (West Wallsend) is to receive $1,000,

West Wallsend Anzac Day 2020, provide a local Anzac Day commemoration for the West Wallsend community and include a march led by a bagpiper, the flag bearer and parade commander. The community will then gather at the cenotaph outside the club for readings and laying of wreaths by local school captains and representatives of other community organisations.

Further details of the program and all successful grants funded for the 2019/20 program can be found at