Latest News

The Member for Cessnock, Clayton Barr, MP today encouraged Aboriginal artists in the Electorate of Cessnock to enter the 2014 Parliament of New South Wales Aboriginal Art Prize – an annual acquisitive prize of $40,000, awarded to the finest example of contemporary Aboriginal art in New South Wales.

Entries are now open, and will be accepted up until Friday August 1, 2014.

All artists, whether established or emerging are encouraged to enter. Finalists will be included in an exhibition at Parliament House throughout October, which will then go on a tour of regional galleries in NSW in 2015.

“It is a unique opportunity to share artistic visions with members of parliament, the public and arts institutions across the State,” said Clayton Barr, MP, State Member for the Electorate of Cessnock.

To be eligible artists must be 18 years or over, and must have been born in NSW, or be living here as a resident.

The Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize is the largest combined art prize currently on offer for Aboriginal artists in Australia and has been made possible by a partnership between the Parliament, Campbelltown Arts Centre, Arts NSW, the College of Fine Arts and Coal & Allied.

Past winners have included the likes of Roy Kennedy, Esme Timbery, Danny Eastwood, the Euraba Artists and Papermakers, Leanne Tobin and 2013 winner Karla Dickens.

In addition to the main Prize, entrants can also choose to be considered for the College of Fine Arts Aboriginal Arts Residency – a residency at the College with access to arts staff and materials, and the opportunity to stage a solo exhibition at COFA in 2014. The 2013 winner was Warwick Keen, who is currently learning more about photography and digital manipulation, and has submitted an exhibition proposal.

For more information on eligibility criteria and for full terms and conditions of entry to the Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize, visit or contact Campbelltown Arts Centre on 02 4645 4100 or by email to